sociobyte

WTF TECHNOLOGIE, YR MESSING W EVERYBUDDYZ LIFE.

the hills are alive with the sounds of technology-y-y

In August I got to spend about two weeks in the same itty-bitty northern Wisconsin cabin I have been spending holidays at since I was but a babe. (A baby, that is. I’m still tots a babe WHAAAAT.)

special note! I realize so many of these posts are starting with: Once upon a time, I had this experience blah blah! But I have been jotting down down social tech ideas for months, and have been thinking about them even longer, so there’s a lot to catch up on. STOP GIVING ME A HARD TIME. Just kidding, no one is giving me a hard time. Ever. About anything.

As I was saying, I was at this pine-tree-encrusted paradise of toads and canoes with my sweet mom, my SHOCKINGLYGREAT sister, and my INSPIRATIONALLY-SOCIALLY-TECHNOLOGICAL cousin.

So this is a lot of preamble to say that the most hilarious thing ever happened in the kitchen. There’s nothing even resembling the internet up there, but as I walked by the oven installed by my great-grandfather Forrest Bennet I SWORE TO GOD I heard the little chime of a new gchat. Ears muthrfkn perked up. Who’s talking to me?

It was a teapot knocking against the burner or something, but isn’t it SO FASCINATING how we are now so attuned to a set of sounds that didn’t even exist before? Certainly this is not a new phenomenon– the sound of a locomotive was a wholly new sound that became ingrained or whatevs, as was the ringing of the telephone– but the sounds we now associate with getting some kind of new information are so subtle. It’s not like “OH DAMN, THAT’S A TRAIN,” but instead like “Oh, that soft series of tones is a new email on my iPhone,” and “Oh, that background whirring on the song I made in GarageBand is my overworked harddrive,” and “Oh, that tiny click at the beginning of my PhotoBooth dance video is me hitting the space bar to start All The Single Ladies in iTunes.” (Wow, Apple should pay me a zillion$$ for that sentence. Barf, sorry.)

Wisconsin raspberry picking / blackberry using

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

